+ Reply to Thread
  1. Junior Member Registered Member

Default Beginner​ looking for advice

Good Morning/Afternoon/Evening all,

I am new to the IT field and hope to get into the cyber security field in the future. I want to start from the bottom and work my way up the hard way. I need some advice on where to start and I heard that CompTIA A+ would get me started on my path. I need to know where to go to get good training with LABS and I say that in all caps because I order for me to learn I must have teachings and hands on exercises. Please Help I've been searching Google for a while now .

Lucas
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS -->

Certifications
    CompTIA A+ Net+ | Sec+ | MCTS: Win 7 MCP | MTA NF | MTA OSF
    I would recommend following the 'CompTIA Trio' (A+, Network+ and Security+). This will give you a solid foundation on IT in general and some insight into the Security field. A lot of people tend to follow this path and it opens up so many different options for your career.

The two big names you will see on here is Professor Messer and Darril Gibson. Professor Messer creates video courses which covers all of the content in each CompTIA exam. They are easy to follow and includes demonstrations to show you how something is done. I'd recommend following the course for the A+ and see hwo you get on.

Professor Messer’s CompTIA 220-901 and 220-902 A+ Training Course | Professor Messer IT Certification Training Courses

Darril Gibson has an excellent series of books that you can read through which again covers all of the content in the exam that you are doing. A lot of people usually follow both Professor Messer and Darril Gibson as it gives you a good mixture of theory and practical work. You can find his book by searching on Amazon.