+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    194
    #1

    Default "erase nvram" and "erase startup-config"

    Now I know that these two commands do the same thing. However, are they the only commands to type to get a router back to its default configuration?

    What about VLAN information? Should I erase that with "delete flash:vlan.dat"?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  2. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    356

    Certifications
    CCNP, CCNA Security, ITIL Foundation (2011)
    #2
    yes vlan information is deleted by delete vlan.dat (this is for a basic switch at least.)

    I normally do write erase to remove config.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

+ Reply to Thread

Social Networking & Bookmarks