+ Reply to Thread
  1. Chasing down my dreams. Chitownjedi's Avatar

Default 802.1x For Windows Login Authentication

Hello,

So, its been a while since I've looked into my CCNA notes, but my boss asked me about what I believe to be 802.1x...

We currently have no Wi-fi set up at our head quarters (I know I know)

They have been doing survey's and everything and we had a meeting and they were mentioning ways to make it easier for the users to connect to the wireless network we will have, and I suggested 802.1x and WPA2-Enterprise....

It has been a while since i've looked over my wireless networking material, I've been focusing on M$ for last 6 months, but I am planning on doing research and giving him the blue print on how to do it (Good chance to have this be a project under my belt)

Just making sure that 802.1x is what I am referring to... when a user logins in to the domain, that same user name and password is authenticated through the radius server that has the ability to query AD/LDAP for credentials correct?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS -->

Certifications
    CCIE:R&S
    Yes.

You can push all of the 802.1x settings out through a GPO and have it be completely transparent to the users also. If they log in with an AD account, they are on the wireless.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

Certifications
    CCWKIA (Cisco Certified Wannabe Know It All)
    Zart pretty much covered it for you. GPO for sure to handle seamless client authentication to the WLAN.

I finished a wireless project recently and while I am not a "Wireless" Engineer, it wasn't so bad but definitely lots of little details I would never have known had I not gone through it.

Throw ISE on top of it and it gets even more crazy.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

5. Senior Member

Certifications
    CCNP R/S, CCNA Wireless, BCNP, BCNE, SCP, A+, N+