+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Home CCVP lab

1. Junior Member

Default Home CCVP lab

Hello all

I am currently studying for my CCNP and have set-up a home lab with some 2600's, a couple of 2900 switches and a couple of 800's for isdn. Since the CCNP track is changing to include VOIP and wireless I thought it would be a good idea to get some voice stuff for the lab and then do CCVP along with the CCNP.

Can anyone recommend what would be needed for a home voice lab. My budget wont stretch to expensive kit such as 3550's I would rather spend my money wisely so any help would be appreciated.

I have had a look at what Cisco recommends but I would rather find out what is needed from people who have actually been there.

Any help most appreciated

Regards
    Ellen
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS -->

Certifications
    CCNP CCIP CCSP CCVP CCDP CCDA CCNA CS-CIPSS CS-CIPTDS CS-CIPTOS CS-CIPCSS CS-CFWS CS-CVPNS CS-CISecS ISSP 4013 4011
    The equipment I used is in the Doubt about CCVP equipments thread.

The link to the CCIE Voice Equipment is also in that thread -- that's sort of the "Dream Lab" for the CCVP, but parts of it would be overkill.

Renting a CCIE Voice Rack is an option for CCVP study.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

4. Junior Member

Default re: Home CCVP lab

Thanks mike

I had read this posting already but was not sure if anyone else had anything more to add on this

My 2600's will easily take a couple of V1/V2 modules with the FXS/FXO (at risk of sounding stupid what is the difference between these?). I think my switches should be fine as well, so I just need to track down the phones and the call manager/gateway stuff

On the subject of phones I have noticed quite a few different types on ebay, is there anything that I should keep away from?

Thanks again
    Ellen
    Reply With Quote Quote  

Certifications
    CCNP CCIP CCSP CCVP CCDP CCDA CCNA CS-CIPSS CS-CIPTDS CS-CIPTOS CS-CIPCSS CS-CFWS CS-CVPNS CS-CISecS ISSP 4013 4011