+ Reply to Thread
  1. Junior Member Registered Member

Certifications
    Security+, CISM

Default Is it worth having both the CISSP and the CISM

I passed my CISM two years ago, and now I'm studying for the CISSP. Is it worth having both? It almost seems like the same content. How beneficial job hunting wise is it to have both? Who has both and how marketable has it made you?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS
  3. Senior Member

Certifications
    CISSP, CISM
    Made a big difference for me. I also see lots of job postings asking for both certs.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

4. Senior Member

Certifications
    CISSP, CISA, GWAPT, GSEC
    Jobs in the U.S. are usually one of the two...but CISSP is seen as the gold standard so it will show up more frequently, where the CISM is a lot less known. I believe there is only like 30,000 CISM worldwide and around 80,000 CISSP in the U.S., which is more a testament of how many people will be familiar with one over the other not necessarily an exclusive club like with a CCIE for example.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

5. Scruffy-looking nerfherdr tedjames's Avatar

Certifications
    SSCP, Security+, eJPT +4
    Most people I know earn CISSP first and then earn CISM only if they want to move into management/leadership positions, such as CISO or CIO. It's true that CISSP will open more doors for you.

A former co-worker earned CISSP and then sat for the CISM exam a few years later without studying. He said there was a lot of crossover.

If I were in your shoes, I'd pursue CISSP. Having CISSP and CISM together will do you a lot of good, depending on your career goals.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

Certifications
    Look Ma! No Certs!
    Quote Originally Posted by mattster79 View Post
    Made a big difference for me. I also see lots of job postings asking for both certs.
    I'm literally writing my CISM this Saturday morning. I'm anxious to get it over with!

Cheers,
    DZA_
    Reply With Quote Quote  

7. Senior Member