+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last

Certifications
    CompTIA A+ Net+ | Sec+ | MCTS: Win 7 MCP | MTA NF | MTA OSF

Default Linux+ or RHCSA?

I am completely new to Linux, and I would love to get into it once I complete my MCITP and MCSA for Windows Server.

I have recently started a new job working in a RedHat 5 and AIX environment, and my TL is training me in the basic commands to be able to do my job (they wanted someone with no/little experience so they didn't have to pay me as much ). I've used basic Ubuntu and Fedora VMs on my personal PC and this is the first time I've used it from a command based environment. I'm actually enjoying it more than I thought I would.

I've completed the CompTIA trio so I sort of know what to expect from the Linux+, but I'm quite frankly bored of their exam style and want to push myself. I think the RHCSA is worth more but only covers Redhat? As a newbie, would you recommend doing the Linux+ first or go straight to the RHCSA? What can I expect from the lab environments? With the Linux+ I can use Professor Messers videos and some Darril Gibson books. Can the RHCSA be self studied or is it better to do it through a course?

Sorry for all the questions, just want to prepare myself and gather as much info as I can
    Currently working at: MCSA: Windows 10 (70-698, 70-697)
    2018/2019 Goals: MCSE: Mobility, MCSA: Windows Server 2012, RHCSA

"There are 10 types of people in this world; those who understand binary and those who don't." - Anon
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS -->
  3. Censorship is Un-American JockVSJock's Avatar

Certifications
    M.S. in MIS/MBA, Network+, A+, Linux+, Security+, C|EH
    Do the RHCSA.

Forget about Linux+.

RHCSA hands on/real world, were you build actual knowledge and skills.

CompTIA Linux+ is a bunch of multiple choice questions, where you memorize an answer.

Get yourself VirtualBox and the latest CentOS and you are ready to lab away.