+ Reply to Thread
  1. Senior Member

Certifications
    CISM, CISSP, SSCP, Security+, Network+, A+, Linux+, Project+, NSTISSI / CNSSI 4011, 4012, 4015, and 4016

Default Passed LX0-104 today!

I'm not a Linux guy. I used to "sorta" be a Unix guy years ago, but it's been a long time. I didn't realize how much I'd forgotten until I started looking at the Linux+ cert. I didn't need this for work or anything. Wanted to try it "just because."

For LX0-103, I studied two books: the AiO by Robb Tracy and the lighthouse by Bresnahan and Blum. I also set up a couple of VMs to play in, focusing mostly on a Mint VM. I went into the exam feeling very prepared and was surprised at how hard it was and relieved to score a 550 (need a 500 to pass).

Feeling like I needed to try a different prep strategy for LX0-104, I used uCertify and CompTIA's CertMaster online prep systems. Big difference!

First, both the Tracy and the Brashahan/Blum books covered both tests, and while a lot of chapters focused all or mostly on one exam or the other, there was overlap and interlacing (especially in the Tracy book), making it a bit difficult for me to compartmentalize which material was important for which test.

The uCertify and CertMaster lessons were specifically for LX0-104 (there are also LX0-103 options, but they are distinctly separate). The books may be a good approach if you want to take both exams at the same time, but the focused uCertify and CertMaster lessons suited my needs better and I wish I would have used them for the 103 exam.

Both uCertify and CertMaster impressed me. I'd seen negative comments about both here, and I was leery to use them, but I'm glad I did. For this exam I didn't do any VM stuff, but uCertify has some command line simulations.

uCertify gave me the best overall Linux knowledge base. I think I could have passed LX0-104 just with the uCertify material.