+ Reply to Thread

Certifications
    CompTIA A+ Net+ | Sec+ | MCTS: Win 7 MCP | MTA NF | MTA OSF

Default Starting off in Linux

Hi all. I've spent a lot of time over at the CompTIA and MS forums, but I'm new to this dark side of TE .

I want to start training myself in Linux and get a few certs from it. My end goal at the moment is to become a trained sysadmin in a Windows and Linux environment. I'm currently working towards my MCSE Server 2012/2016 and then plan doing Linux after.

I would like to know where to start as I haven't had a lot of experience in it yet. I've done a few Ubuntu and Fedora VMs at home on a graphical end, and spent a year working on Redhat v5 with a bit of AIX thrown in. I wasn't trained in Redhat, but the company who hired me decided to train me for the job so they didn't have to pay a full Linux-level salary. I got a fair bit of experience in it and even made myself a little command spreadsheet .

Would it be worth going straight for the RHCSA? I don't think I need to do the Linux+, as I want to use it at an industry level and go for the big stuff. If I need to create Linux workstations I can use the experience I got from the VMs.

What would you guys recommend? I would like to hear how you guys started and what you used for training? I've seen sites like LinuxAcademy around which look useful. What would your advice be?

Thanks in advance!
    Currently working at: MCSA: Windows 10 (70-698, 70-697)
    2018/2019 Goals: MCSE: Mobility, MCSA: Windows Server 2012, RHCSA

"There are 10 types of people in this world; those who understand binary and those who don't." - Anon
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS -->

Certifications
    Network+
    Linux Academy 3 months free from Visual Studio on TechNet
    Reply With Quote Quote  

Certifications
    A+, Network+, i-Net+, Server+, Security+, MCP 70-210, Novell CNA 5.0
    Quote Originally Posted by boxerboy1168 View Post
    Linux Academy 3 months free from Visual Studio on TechNet