+ Reply to Thread
  1. Member

Default Creating Standalone root and Enterprise Subordinate

Good day:
    I created a standalone root CA but when i tried creating the enterprise subordinate i get a message that the root ca could not be contacted. The standalone root CA is configured as a workgroup and the subordinate ca is a domain member. They are both on the same subnet and can ping each other. I am new to this, so i really do not know what to do next.

Thanks.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS -->
  3. Junior Member

Certifications
    MCITP : EA . MCTS: Exchange 2010, MCSA: Server 2012, CompTIA A+ , Network+, MCTS: 70-680
    Im new to this as well but is your Root CA online as well?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

Certifications
    A+, Network+, Security+, MCSE:S 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by thickSkin View Post
    i get a message that the root ca could not be contacted.
    How do they contact each other, with DNS? Are they using the same internal DNS server?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

Certifications
    MCSA:2008, VCP4/5, CCA (XS), MCITP: EA/VA, MCSE, MCSA, Linux+, Security+, Server+, A+
    You'll need to save your certificate request and manually submit it to the root CA. Take a look at the tutorial here, it gets pretty in depth on the whole CA configuration process. Designing and Implementing a PKI: Part II Implementation Phases and Certificate Authority Installation - Ask the Directory Services Team - Site Home - TechNet Blogs
    Reply With Quote Quote  

6. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by dhenderson View Post
    Im new to this as well but is your Root CA online as well?
    Yes the Root CA is online
    Reply With Quote Quote  

7. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by DragonNOA1 View Post
    How do they contact each other, with DNS? Are they using the same internal DNS server?