+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    2,414
    #1

    Default Raspberry PII : DHCP server, is it possible?

    Hey guys,

    so I'm thinking of solving a problem I have...

    I would like to make a DHCP server for my 4 Cisco 1262 AP's at home but they need a DHCP to allocate IP's.

    I've looked into the Raspberry PII; and the Ubuntu Server 2014 is about 3 GB's in size so it would fit on a SDMicro card.

    I mean I know this is a bit crazy, but do you think it would be possible? ... this way I don't need to keep a R610 operating so a VM can allocate IP's, i'll just use a raspberry....

    thoughts? ... too ambitious?
    Last edited by Deathmage; 07-26-2014 at 03:49 PM.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  2. SS
  3. Senior Member kMastaFlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    973

    Certifications
    A+,Network+,Security+,EMCISA,MCP,CCENT,CCNA R&S,CEH,CHFI,Linux+,LPIC-1,ECSS,ECES,GPEN,OSWP,Server+,LPT,GCIH,ECIH,ECSA,JNCIA,CPTE,CPTC,eJPT,GNFA,CySA+
    #2
    It is possible to use Ubuntu as a DHCP server. Maybe this is what you are looking for? Setting up your Raspberry Pi as a DHCP Server - eLinux.org
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  4. Senior Member darkerosxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,336
    #3
    I'm using Pi's for much bigger stuff, so yes the hardware can support that usage.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  5. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    2,414
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by darkerosxx View Post
    I'm using Pi's for much bigger stuff, so yes the hardware can support that usage.
    How enlightening, like what else can this little toad do?

    Quote Originally Posted by kMastaFlash View Post
    It is possible to use Ubuntu as a DHCP server. Maybe this is what you are looking for? Setting up your Raspberry Pi as a DHCP Server - eLinux.org
    thank you sir!
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  6. Senior Member darkerosxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,336
    #5
    Tons and tons of stuff. I'm using ones placed around the country to run network tests.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  7. Senior Member JeanM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,105

    Certifications
    CCNA, MCP, S+, N+, A+
    #6
    Yep, but you can also do the same with the most basic 17xx series router (like these as they run at about 12watts of power).
    No need to keep a full R610 up just for DHCP
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  8. The Bringer of Light DevilWAH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,968

    Certifications
    CCENT, CCNA, CCNA Security, ITIL Foundation, CCNP SWITCH,ROUTE, Zoology BSc,
    #7
    Personal I would not run the full unbuntu server just for DHCP, there are much lighter weight DHCP servers that will run under the standard rasbian OS on the Pi.

    one of my pi runs DHCP / DNS / Torrent client / Media server and serves files with out issue. It would make a great DHCP/DNS low power home lab server. It also works great as a VMware / Citrix thin client.

    I have only once logged in to the GUI on a PI, you learn far more about Linux if you learn the CLi, and find after a short learning curve you can do much more much quicker.
    Last edited by DevilWAH; 07-26-2014 at 07:44 PM.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  9. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    2,414
    #8
    this is awesome feedback; thanks guys!
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  10. Senior Member tprice5's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    758

    Certifications
    BS:CS, VCP5-DCV, Sec/Svr+, MCSA:08/12, MCITP:SA/EA, CASP, VCA:WM/DCV/Cloud, ITIL-F, MOF, ISO/IEC 20000/27000
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by anam600 View Post
    I think, it is not possible.
    I think this guy is on to something... waiting for more
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  11. Google Ninja jibbajabba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ninja Cave
    Posts
    4,245

    Certifications
    TechExam Certified Alien Abduction Professional
    #10
    I used a RP as DHCP / DNS / NTP and LAMP server lol ...

    DHCP is a piece of cake for it - although a waste really ..
    My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  12. Senior Member tprice5's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    758

    Certifications
    BS:CS, VCP5-DCV, Sec/Svr+, MCSA:08/12, MCITP:SA/EA, CASP, VCA:WM/DCV/Cloud, ITIL-F, MOF, ISO/IEC 20000/27000
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by jibbajabba View Post
    DHCP is a piece of cake for it - although a waste really ..
    If my crappy router can do DHCP, then I would imagine a RPi could and some..
    I think they are pretty cool little devices. I don't have a real need for one right now but when I get back stateside I would love to get into some home automation and set a few of these up around the house to perform tasks here and there.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  13. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Souhampton Uk
    Posts
    1,120

    Certifications
    Currently Studying for MCDST
    #12
    My gameboy can do DHCP pftttttttttttt
    Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

    " Embrace, evolve, extinguish "
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  14. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    2,414
    #13
    Bought 5 of the Raspberry PI's (2 are DHCP/DNS servers, 2 are Ubuntu Server 14.04, and one is being used as a RDP client); have them hooked up to the KVM switch in the rack; it's pretty neat what you can do with them....

    if only you could stack two Raspberry PI's together and/or jack the memory to 1 to 2 GB's....

    pondering an idea to use a 8 inch touchscreen with flexible keyboard and use it in my car. My car has a USB port you can tie into the BCM. Just imagine I could tie into my car's computer. :P ... I already re-programmed my BCM to match for the re-programmed ECM/TCM since my car is now a 93 octane car from 87 so pretty much everything has been modified; she's made the tune since 95k miles and she now has 148k on her. 282 HP baby on a car that was 229 HP.
    Last edited by Deathmage; 08-03-2014 at 01:05 PM.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  15. The Bringer of Light DevilWAH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,968

    Certifications
    CCENT, CCNA, CCNA Security, ITIL Foundation, CCNP SWITCH,ROUTE, Zoology BSc,
    #14
    Quote Originally Posted by Deathmage View Post
    pondering an idea to use a 8 inch touchscreen with flexible keyboard and use it in my car. My car has a USB port you can tie into the BCM. Just imagine I could tie into my car's computer. :P ... I already re-programmed my BCM to match for the re-programmed ECM/TCM since my car is now a 93 octane car from 87 so pretty much everything has been modified; she's made the tune since 95k miles and she now has 148k on her. 282 HP baby on a car that was 229 HP.
    The one failing on the Pi is its poor audio, even with an external usb audio card its not great, other wise I would have married one of mine to a touch screen for a complete in car computer system.

    My home routers is on its way out so I am looking in to replacing it with a Pi. Question will be how much through put can i get if it can beat 50mbs then it is faster than my internet link and would be a really flexible solution.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  16. xnx
    xnx is offline
    Cisco n00b xnx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    453

    Certifications
    BSc IT & CSc, CCNA R&S, CCNP R&S + Other vendor certs..
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by DevilWAH View Post
    The one failing on the Pi is its poor audio, even with an external usb audio card its not great, other wise I would have married one of mine to a touch screen for a complete in car computer system.

    My home routers is on its way out so I am looking in to replacing it with a Pi. Question will be how much through put can i get if it can beat 50mbs then it is faster than my internet link and would be a really flexible solution.
    Well yeah, the audio will suck due to the limited power the pi draws. You should try using a active inline amplifier.

    Also what router do you use at home at the moment, I went full out and just bought a Asus RT-N66U for my own network and a Asus RT-AC66U for everyone else's stuff at home.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  17. The Bringer of Light DevilWAH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,968

    Certifications
    CCENT, CCNA, CCNA Security, ITIL Foundation, CCNP SWITCH,ROUTE, Zoology BSc,
    #16
    It's not the power, the sound circuit is not protected and there is no RTC so the audio out is pretty awful. you get a horrendous back ground hum and lots of artifacts. The only way to over come it is to use a external sound card which by the time you get a half decent one susceptible for music play back you could get a purpose built car computer mother board.

    As for home router I have used every thing from a BT home hub to a CISCO 1841, the idea for using a Pi is not because I can't get any thing else, just like the idea of it as a project. Quite like the idea of a TOR router at home as well, and any thing else I can think of to play with.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  18. xnx
    xnx is offline
    Cisco n00b xnx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    453

    Certifications
    BSc IT & CSc, CCNA R&S, CCNP R&S + Other vendor certs..
    #17
    I don't see what effect an RTC would have on PWM and audio..? I do see how noise from the power can effect it though.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  19. The Bringer of Light DevilWAH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,968

    Certifications
    CCENT, CCNA, CCNA Security, ITIL Foundation, CCNP SWITCH,ROUTE, Zoology BSc,
    #18
    I have no idea why I typed RTC in my last reply, I assume I was thinking of some thing else but mind wandered to other issues with the Pi, as not having a RTC raises other issues when wanting to create a standalone car computer system.

    anyhow Quality of the Raspberry Pi onboard sound | Crazy Audio shows an oscilloscope trace of the on board audio out, and having tried it as a bubble uPNP render in to a stereo I know the sound is awful,

    Mind you the other thing about a Pi is that its not that fast if you run any GUi session on it, having one in the car and you would end up spending more time looking at it rather than the road, and probable smash it in frustration before to long.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  20. xnx
    xnx is offline
    Cisco n00b xnx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    453

    Certifications
    BSc IT & CSc, CCNA R&S, CCNP R&S + Other vendor certs..
    #19
    Yeah, they're pretty slow. I used to run CUPS on mines but my router acts as my print server now.

    That link shows how ridiculous the distortion is lol
    Reply With Quote Quote  

+ Reply to Thread

Social Networking & Bookmarks