+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    24

    Certifications
    IC3, A+, Net+,Hp Desktop support, A.A.S degree in computer science specialized in Network Technologies
    #1

    Default Recommendation for new Laptop

    I am in the market for looking for a new laptop. I will be using it for network administration and support. I don't need anything powerful just something that I can test and configure equipment. Any suggestions?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  2. SS -->
  3. Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1,123

    Certifications
    GWAPT, GSEC, Associate of (ISC)2, C|EH, CCNA:Security, CCNA:R&S, CCENT, Security+, Network+
    #2
    Which OS? If you don’t need a ton of power, something like a MacBook Air would be nice if you are moving around a lot and want to have something portable.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  4. ABL - Always Be Labbin' Iristheangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    3,669

    Certifications
    CISSP, CCIE DC, CCNP R&S/DC, CCDP, CCNA:RS/S/V/DC, CCDA, BCVRE, BCEFP, BCNE, CEH, CHFI, MCSE:S, MCDST, A/S/L/P/N+, some useless Citrix and CIW certs
    #3
    Not sure if this is what you're looking for but this is what I'll be buying in December: https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/conten...h7blackedition

    Pros:
    - Form factor of Surface Pro (which I have) but bigger screen which is what I've wished out of my Surface for awhile
    - Wacom EMR technology (4096 levels of sensitivity)
    - Battery-less pen that actually tucks into the laptop
    - Great for presentations
    - Quad core Kaby Lake processor
    - 16 GB RAM
    - 10 hour battery
    - Liquid cooling
    - 512GB SSD Drive
    - Discrete GPU
    - USB-C
    - MicroSD card

    I'll probably be swapping out my Surface Pro 4 with this since I'm always on the run and I can use this for making videos, presentations, labbing, and it's light enough for travel.
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
    Bonus TE Fun: Nerd Photos
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  5. Senior Member stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    1,265

    Certifications
    CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, Server+, Linux+ and CSA+; MCSA: Windows 7, ITIL Foundations
    #4
    I am not an Acer fan but that is a pretty awesome sounding computer.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

    Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  6. Member djrabes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    52

    Certifications
    A+, MCP, MCSA: Windows Server 2012/2016, BTEC Level 2 Diploma in ICT Professional Competence
    #5
    Anything Intel i5 or higher with 8GB of RAM to be honest. Dependent on whether you want OS X or Windows/Linux
    Certifications: CompTIA A+, MCP, MCSA: Windows Server 2012, Windows Server 2016
    Studying: Exam 70-698: Installing and Configuring Windows 10
    Want: MCSA: Windows 10, MCSA: Office 365, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure (Exam 70-744: Securing Windows Server 2016), Network+, Security+
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  7. Senior Member mikey88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    126

    Certifications
    Security+, Network+, Server+
    #6
    I have a Dell XPS 13 and I love it. When I bought it, it was "smallest 13in laptop on the planet" lol due to it's infinity display. I may go for XPS 15 though because I want a dedicated GPU going forward.

    but as @djrabes mentioned, anything i5,i7 8gb Ram and a SSD would be solid.
    2017 Goals: Security+ [] Server+ []
    2018 Goals: CCNA Cyber Ops, Security[ ] CISSP [ ]
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  8. Senior Member yoba222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    355

    Certifications
    GCIH, eJPT, CCNA R&S, CAPM, Sec+, Net+, A+
    #7
    Also have an XPS13 because Dell is more Linux Friendly than most other laptop making companies. There is no dedicated ethernet port. You have to fiddle with a floppy adapter to get that working. Macs are even worse in this regard.
    Working on: Linux Foundation Certified System Administrator (LFCS) exam scheduled October 20
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  9. They are watching you NetworkNewb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Off the grid
    Posts
    2,566

    Certifications
    A+/Net+/Sec+, CCENT, CCNA:Sec, CCSK, GCIH
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Iristheangel View Post
    Not sure if this is what you're looking for but this is what I'll be buying in December: https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/series/
    The only thing that annoys me about that is the stand. Looks like it would get bent or just snap off if it got pulled to hard.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  10. ABL - Always Be Labbin' Iristheangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    3,669

    Certifications
    CISSP, CCIE DC, CCNP R&S/DC, CCDP, CCNA:RS/S/V/DC, CCDA, BCVRE, BCEFP, BCNE, CEH, CHFI, MCSE:S, MCDST, A/S/L/P/N+, some useless Citrix and CIW certs
    #9
    @networknewb - Per the video reviews, it's pretty solid. It does look easier to replace though if it does break than a Surface Pro stand
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
    Bonus TE Fun: Nerd Photos
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  11. Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    24

    Certifications
    IC3, A+, Net+,Hp Desktop support, A.A.S degree in computer science specialized in Network Technologies
    #10
    No OS preference, and that Acer is looking nice, but I can be clumsy and wondered if I would accidentally break it ? It does seem solid though as said above by Iris.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  12. Senior Member dmoore44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    627

    Certifications
    Security+, CISSP, CEH
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Iristheangel View Post
    ...bigger screen which is what I've wished out of my Surface for awhile...
    Bigger screen? Huh, I'm the opposite - I've got a SP3, and I wish the screen were smaller. I dislike the 12" size and 3:2 aspect ratio - I wish the form factor were closer to the iPad's 9.7" size and 4:3 aspect ratio. I guess it's all a matter of use case - if you're a hardcore content creator who likes to lab on the side, a larger screen would be worth it. I like to use my tablet to read (general web content via feedly, ebooks, comics, etc) and watch videos.
    Enrolled
    Carnegie Mellon University MSIT: Information Security & Assurance

    Currently Reading

    School Books
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  13. ABL - Always Be Labbin' Iristheangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    3,669

    Certifications
    CISSP, CCIE DC, CCNP R&S/DC, CCDP, CCNA:RS/S/V/DC, CCDA, BCVRE, BCEFP, BCNE, CEH, CHFI, MCSE:S, MCDST, A/S/L/P/N+, some useless Citrix and CIW certs
    #12
    @dmoore44 - LoL. I always like more real estate and for it to be portable. That's why I have one of these with me at all times: https://www.amazon.com/ASUS-MB168B-1...2Bmonitor&th=1

    Less than a pound and a full USB powered 15.6" 1920x1080 IPS screen. Perfect for labbing and work
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
    Bonus TE Fun: Nerd Photos
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  14. Completely Clueless TechGromit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Galloway, NJ
    Posts
    1,284

    Certifications
    A+, Network +, GSEC, GCIH, Lunatic+
    #13
    Something with a built in Ethernet adapter, they are becoming increasingly hard to find. WiFi is great, most of the time, but get some interference, poor WiFi coverage or too many devices without enough access points, than your better off with dial up, at 2400 bauds. Yes, they have external Wifi adapters you can plug into your USB port, but that's another thing you'll not use often and when you need it, your like damn I forgot to pack it. Can't forget it, if it's build into your laptop. Forget BestBuy, last time I was there, they didn't sell a single model that had built in WiFi.
    Still searching for the corner in a round room.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  15. Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    24

    Certifications
    IC3, A+, Net+,Hp Desktop support, A.A.S degree in computer science specialized in Network Technologies
    #14
    I agree Gromit and where's the cheese? Sorry I had to. I haven't found a lot with built in Ethernet adapters. I just recently found out that I had an old HP Compaq 6730b laptop and still works with Windows 7, but it is 7 years old according to HP site. Kind of hesitant to dump money into upgrading it but it does have built in Ethernet adapter and a wireless a/b/g card.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  16. Senior Member wd40's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Bahrain
    Posts
    904

    Certifications
    CISA, eJPT, CompTIA x 6, MCP, MCTS
    #15
    Lenovo T4 (T470) series laptops and X2 (X270) series have Ethernet ports, both are business laptops so you will have to pay a little bit more than consumer laptops.

    https://www3.lenovo.com/gb/en/laptop.../p/22TP2TX2700

    https://www3.lenovo.com/gb/en/laptop.../p/22TP2TT4700
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  17. Completely Clueless TechGromit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Galloway, NJ
    Posts
    1,284

    Certifications
    A+, Network +, GSEC, GCIH, Lunatic+
    #16
    Our last upgrade at work was HP Probook 640 G2, fastest option is Intel Core i7-6600U / 3.4 GHz 4 MB cache, 2 cores, compared to your HP Compaq Intel, Core 2 Duo P8600 / 2.4 GHz. They are considerably faster, CPU benchmark 4812 vs 1540. With built in Ethernet adapter. That not the model I have on my desk, I have an i5-4300M, which benchmarks in at 4407.
    Last edited by TechGromit; 10-03-2017 at 03:17 PM.
    Still searching for the corner in a round room.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  18. Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    6
    #17
    Quote Originally Posted by wd40 View Post
    Lenovo T4 (T470) series laptops and X2 (X270) series have Ethernet ports, both are business laptops so you will have to pay a little bit more than consumer laptops.

    https://www3.lenovo.com/gb/en/laptop.../p/22TP2TX2700

    https://www3.lenovo.com/gb/en/laptop.../p/22TP2TT4700
    You don't have to buy a T470 brand new. Earlier this year, I got a professionally refurbished T430s with 128 GB SSD and 8 GB RAM at Micro Center for $239 plus tax. It's been purring away as my primary computer ever since.

    That said, the trick, in my experience, is to buy equipment that is designed for corporate use (3-5 year life cycle) rather than consumer use. That way, you're more likely to get something that's not nearly as disposable as say...the $200 Black Friday special at Best Buy.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

+ Reply to Thread

Social Networking & Bookmarks