+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. Senior Member Mr.Network's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    116

    Certifications
    CCNA R&S, CCNA Cyber Ops, MCSA.
    #1

    Default Home router with firewall

    I'm looking for a good wifi router with a good firewall, maybe IPS also.

    Do you guys know of any good ones?
    maybe it's better to get a separated firewall box.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  2. SS
  3. Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1,522

    Certifications
    Cisco (3), CompTIA (2), EC-Council (2), GIAC (3), ISACA (1), ISC2 (1)
    #2
    Well is it just to have one with everything? You aren’t going to find advanced features like IPS generally on a consumer device. Have you looked into pfSense? Of course you can always get some Cisco gear but it depends on your budget.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  4. Passion For IT
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    669

    Certifications
    CISSP, MCTS, MCITP, MCP, A+, Server+, Security+, Project+, CCENT, CCNA-Sec, CEH, CHFI
    #3
    I use my DSL router in bridged mode connected to a small pfSense router (connected to a Cisco switch and a Ubiquity AP). Does a great job. Really overkill for a home system, but it's a great part for a learning environment and setup to route to the Cisco lab I have set up (when powered on).
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  5. Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,159

    Certifications
    CISSP, CCSP, CCNA Cyber Ops, eJPT, ITIL,PA ACE,Qualys Certified Specialist, A+
    #4
    Some TE members here have bought this.
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/s//ref=...F8&k=Protectli

    I'd like to get one also once I save enough for it. looks like a good project to setup and learn too.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  6. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    178

    Certifications
    A+, N+, CCENT, CCNA
    #5
    You can try to get a PA-220 (Palo Alto) Lab Unit. That's what I use at home.

    I've also looked into using PfSense but my PA came before I finished setting it up
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  7. Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,159

    Certifications
    CISSP, CCSP, CCNA Cyber Ops, eJPT, ITIL,PA ACE,Qualys Certified Specialist, A+
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by ImYourOnlyDJ View Post
    You can try to get a PA-220 (Palo Alto) Lab Unit. That's what I use at home.

    I've also looked into using PfSense but my PA came before I finished setting it up
    those are not for sale. Palo Alto requires a license in order to work. Usually are given as "prizes" at different events. I know a few that have one.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  8. Senior Member kohr-ah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,258
    #7
    I just use Ubiquiti at home. Couldn't be happier.

    Went from Fortinet Firewall, Cisco coreswitch, Aruba AP. Removed all those and sold them and went with a Ubiquiti 60W PoE switch, USG Firewall, and Pro AP. Much easier and works great.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  9. Member dkorzhevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    33
    #8
    I recommend 952Ui-5ac2nD, from MikroTik

    https://mikrotik.com/product/RB952Ui-5ac2nD
    Reply With Quote Quote  

+ Reply to Thread

Social Networking & Bookmarks