+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    16

    Certifications
    OPSA,Cisco CCT(x3),CCNA DC,INDUS,SEC,R/S,eJPT
    #1

    Default Buying or DIY a 12U rack

    Hello ,

    I will buy a hp dl380 g6 or G7 (2U) server and i want to put all my switches/routers and the HP in the same rack.
    Also I am torn between buying a 12U rack or a DIY 12U rack .For those who have a home lab , did you buy or build one ?

    I already have a "ikea" and a desktop rack but the HP server is to heavy and around 700 mm deep and the desktop rack will be soon dedicated only for my industrial APIs/technologies.

    So if someone could give me some model references /brands/ Advises or maybe a quick drawing (if you build it), that would be nice .

    Thank you.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  2. SS
  3. California Kid JoJoCal19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,535

    Certifications
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, GCIA, GSEC, AWS CCP, CEHv8, CHFIv8, ITIL-F, MSISA, BSBA
    #2
    With the weight of the equipment, I'd rather buy one than try to fabricate one strong enough. Look at Startech racks. They're pretty reasonable pricewise. Amazon has the smaller open 'desktop' rack for $40 or the bigger four post for $200.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, GCIA, GSEC, AWS CCP, CEHv8, CHFIv8, ITIL-F, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: MS Cybersecurity, AWS Certified Security - Specialty, Learning Linux & Python
    Next Up:​ AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate
    Reading:​ A Cloud Guru, Code Academy
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  4. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    483

    Certifications
    A+, Network+, Linux+, HP APS, VCP 3-4-5-6, VSP,VTSP, SSCP, Veeam VMCE, CISSP
    #3
    There is no way an HP DL380 G6 could be put in a 2 post rack... they are far too long and heavy. I would look for an open four post rack... Look for some used stuff, there are some interesting sometime, if you go this way make sure they are deep enough.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  5. Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    16

    Certifications
    OPSA,Cisco CCT(x3),CCNA DC,INDUS,SEC,R/S,eJPT
    #4
    I checked startech website and found the following model "4POSTRACK12U" ;
    i also found Rack Magic ,4 Column Rack Frame 12U,600/800mm depth - black , as it come in two dimensions do you recommend me to look for a depth of 600 or 800 mm (for the HP)

    @SteveLavoie
    Is it the kind of models you were referring to ?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  6. California Kid JoJoCal19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,535

    Certifications
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, GCIA, GSEC, AWS CCP, CEHv8, CHFIv8, ITIL-F, MSISA, BSBA
    #5
    Amazon carries the 4 post for $209, which is $100 cheaper than from Startech.com

    https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-...s=startech+12u
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, GCIA, GSEC, AWS CCP, CEHv8, CHFIv8, ITIL-F, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: MS Cybersecurity, AWS Certified Security - Specialty, Learning Linux & Python
    Next Up:​ AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate
    Reading:​ A Cloud Guru, Code Academy
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  7. Senior Member --chris--'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Metro Detroit
    Posts
    1,443

    Certifications
    ITIL F, C|EH
    #6
    I bought this:
    https://www.amazon.com/Startech-19-I...words=12u+rack

    It holds 4 routers & 4 switches with room to spare. Well built too.


    Reply With Quote Quote  

  8. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    242

    Certifications
    MCP, A+, Net+
    #7
    I have a couple HP 1U servers and they weigh around 40lbs each, buy or build a nice 4 post rack.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  9. Senior Member mbarrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    392

    Certifications
    CISSP CEH CCNP Security
    #8
    For the money & time, I would rather just buy something. They are pretty cheap, but if you want something really sturdy you are going to be paying more.
    https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/ER12
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  10. Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    16

    Certifications
    OPSA,Cisco CCT(x3),CCNA DC,INDUS,SEC,R/S,eJPT
    #9
    After a bad experience with "magic rack " pre-sell , i finally bought a 12U from startech (AMZ).
    i also didn't buy the HP dl380 based on reddit forums (lot of good advice there !!) ;

    So for my home lab :
    - i transfer my actual PC desktop (ShuttleSZ170R8,4cores/8 threads , 64G mem) in my new rack (i read somewhere in the techexams forum that a member "mokaz" has built his lab with a shuttle so i will also try).
    - I also bought a small nuc to act as "control tower " of the rack and for everyday use .

    Next buy will be a cheap switch with POE and/or a switch that support IOS 15.X , advice on a model (128M/32G mem-flash) ?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

+ Reply to Thread

Social Networking & Bookmarks