+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    11
    #1

    Default Vista Wireless Networking.

    Hello again,

    Trying to add a vista wireless laptop to the Workgroup pier to pier network in the office. I ran it through the name and network change. All the other machines are on XP. It sees the wireless Linksys router and grabs the internet, but it does not see the other computers or the shared folders. How do I make this work. Thank you.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  2. SS
  3. Alligator wrestler Moderator Plantwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    here
    Posts
    4,934

    Certifications
    A+, Net+, iNET+, MCP, CST, CNST, CIW
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by b.cherner@gmail.com View Post
    Hello again,

    Trying to add a vista wireless laptop to the Workgroup pier to pier network in the office. I ran it through the name and network change. All the other machines are on XP. It sees the wireless Linksys router and grabs the internet, but it does not see the other computers or the shared folders. How do I make this work. Thank you.
    Peer-to-peer perhaps


    Which flavor of Vista are you using?

    Have you looked here?
    Windows Peer-to-Peer Networking
    Build a Peer-to-Peer Network with Windows Vista - Ethernet or Wireless - Softpedia
    http://news.softpedia.com/news/The-U...ng-52693.shtml
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux

    ***I'll add you can Capitalize the word 'I' to show a little respect for yourself too.

    'i' before 'e' except after 'c'.... weird?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  4. Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    11
    #3
    Using the silly Home Basic Vista.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  5. Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    11
    #4
    Thank you for the links. Didn't notice them first time I glanced at your posting.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  6. Member fleck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    85

    Certifications
    WIP: Network+
    #5
    Yeah they messed up with Vista, there is a hefty list of things you have to do to get Vista PCs to network with XP PCs.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  7. Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    11
    #6
    Can you tell me where I can find this list of things? I have been looking at those links above, but so far I find everything to do with only Vista, not the mixed environment. Thank you.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  8. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2,056

    Certifications
    Beer+
    #7
    turn on Network Discovery and Network File Sharing.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  9. Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    11
    #8
    Its already done. It only sees the router and the Vista computer for some reason.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  10. Stayed at a Holiday Inn.. the_Grinch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,985

    Certifications
    BS-CST MLS CISSP GMON MPSC Security+ XRY 1+2+3 XAMN AAA AA CMFF CCO CCPA
    #9
    Not using Norton Internet Security are you? You have to add each machine that you want to see. Vista sucks, nothing makes me cry more then when I get a call or e-mail to look at a machine and find out it's Vista!
    WIP:
    Python
    Java
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  11. Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    11
    #10
    No, no, no. Say no to NORTON. Just AVG. I set up 7 XP machines as Workgroup network and they work and talk just fine. Now we bought 3 dell laptops with Vista and I just can't get them to see the XP machines.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  12. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    199

    Certifications
    MCSE, MCITP:EA, CCNA, CCNP
    #11
    Can you ping the Vista units?

    What happens if you do a Run>\\Hostname\Sharename or \\IP Address\Sharename

    Are there any security suites installed? Trials?

    Is password protected sharing turned off?

    If we knew these it would help a bit more.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

+ Reply to Thread

Social Networking & Bookmarks