+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    139

    Certifications
    A+, Network+, Security+, CCNA, CCNA Security
    #1

    Default Boot to ghost from USB

    I'm trying to to boot to ghost directly from my USB, without any CD's or floppies. So far I managed to boot to ghost from my USB. The problem is that my USB is showing up as the C: drive, so when I try to restore an image it will image my USB drive which I don't want it to do. I think something may be wrong with my autoexec.bat file or something. Any ideas?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  2. SS
  3. Senior Member Lamini's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    242

    Certifications
    A+ / NET+ / SEC+ / MCSA
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by mallyg27 View Post
    I'm trying to to boot to ghost directly from my USB, without any CD's or floppies. So far I managed to boot to ghost from my USB. The problem is that my USB is showing up as the C: drive, so when I try to restore an image it will image my USB drive which I don't want it to do. I think something may be wrong with my autoexec.bat file or something. Any ideas?
    went through that... gave up and used acronis (boot from cd, usb, and then some, app that does it is built in).

    ps, let me know how this project goes for ya ;P
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  4. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    139

    Certifications
    A+, Network+, Security+, CCNA, CCNA Security
    #3
    I got it to work, but the speed is so slow.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  5. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    492
    #4
    Just a suggestion... why dont you make a WinPE bootable usb stick, and copy the ghost.exe onto it? You then have the flexibility of capturing/deploying wim and gho files?

    I created one and filled it with tools as well, its proved really handy!!

    edit: On reflection... I think i have the ghost32 on mine, not sure if the normal ghost.exe would run under winpe...
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  6. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    139

    Certifications
    A+, Network+, Security+, CCNA, CCNA Security
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by mrmcmint View Post
    Just a suggestion... why dont you make a WinPE bootable usb stick, and copy the ghost.exe onto it? You then have the flexibility of capturing/deploying wim and gho files?

    I created one and filled it with tools as well, its proved really handy!!

    edit: On reflection... I think i have the ghost32 on mine, not sure if the normal ghost.exe would run under winpe...
    Sounds like a plan. Any site you know of that is straight how to make a WinPE bootable usb stick?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  7. Senior Member Lamini's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    242

    Certifications
    A+ / NET+ / SEC+ / MCSA
    #6
    a little late... but for those who use Norton Ghost... I dont remember where I got this as its in a notepad file Ive had for ... well, at least since I last replied here. Verified on Norton Ghost 12, 14, 15; make your usb stick bootable then copy/paste Norton Ghost disc contents to the stick, makes booting much faster, as in <1minute, from 5min+ on a dual core laptop:

    How to make a bootable Ghost 12/14/15 UFD

    - From Command Prompt, type diskpart
    - Type List Disk, select disk number of your UFD
    - Type Select Disk # (use number from above).
    - Type Clean
    - Type Create partition primary
    - Type Select partition 1
    - Type Active
    - Type Format fs=fat32
    - Type Assign
    - Type Exit
    - Copy all the files from the Ghost 12/14/15 CD to your USB Flash Drive
    Enter your PC’s boot menu and select your USB Flash Drive to boot to. If you do not see an entry for your USB Flash Drive, ensure it is enabled for boot in your PC’s BIOS. Most older PC’s do not support booting from USB.

    ps, symantec ghost solutions suite has a built-in capability to do this, just as acronis does (verified on versions 9 and 10).
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  8. DoWork
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    A major Illinois hospital system near you
    Posts
    1,468

    Certifications
    vExpert, VCAP5-DCA/DCD, VCP5-DCV, VCIX-NV, VCP-NV, BSTM
    #7
    We use BART PE, old school WinPE, and Ghost and it works pretty well. Check out BART PE, it's easy to build and work with. It's an alternative.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

+ Reply to Thread

Social Networking & Bookmarks