+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    213
    #1

    Default Urgent help, regarding Vista. problem

    Bought a new computer from staples depot

    it mentioned that it has Operating System : Vista Home premium 64-bit

    Power it on when i got home:

    CD-ROM BOOT PRIORITY...NO MEDIUM
    REBOOT AND SELECT PROPER BOOT DEVICE
    OR INSERT BOOT MEDIA IN SELECTED BOOT DEVICE AND PRESS A KEY


    Does that mean I have to purchase a Windows Vista CD?
    I am trying to find a 'working' boot up disk?
    Advice?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  2. SS -->
  3. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    12,308
    #2
    Does the HD show up in the BIOS? That should come pre-installed.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  4. Went to the dark side.... Moderator networker050184's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    11,676

    Certifications
    CCNA, CCNP, CCIP, JNCIA-JUNOS, JNCIS-SP, JNCIP-SP, MCA200
    #3
    Did you try to change it to boot from the hard drive?
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  5. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    213
    #4
    Good question.

    Boot Device 1 : [Generic-Compact]
    Boot Device 2: [P0-ATAPI DVD A DH1]
    Boot Device 3: [LAN]


    I dont know if Generic Compact is a hard drive or not?


    It's supposed to be a 750GB SATA drive
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  6. Sith Lord SephStorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,707

    Certifications
    GPEN, GCIH, SFCP, CPT, CEH, QND
    #5
    From what I'm seeing on google, check and see if you have any removable media such as a sd card in the computer.

    If not, I would remove everything from the boot order then reselect them manually, if still nothing, check and make sure the drive is in the computer, and that it is well seated. If still nothing, boot to a cd, live enviroment and see if you can detect the drive from the os. If not something is *ed.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  7. Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    213
    #6
    Thank you for all of your support


    It took me a while to find out what happened.


    One of the plugs wasn't plugged to the SATA drive. I carried the computer home from the street car and the plug inside may have came off. Had to open the case to find out.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

+ Reply to Thread

Social Networking & Bookmarks