+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. Senior Member exampasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    714

    Certifications
    Bachelors in IT,Network+
    #1

    Default Corrupt digital images

    I got a Fujifilm S1500 digital camera. It takes great pictures but sometimes I get read/write errors. I'm using a 4 GB Sandisk SDHC card I got for $7 off of Amazon(though a 3rd party supplier). I'm not sure if it's the card or the Camera. Is there any software out there for testing SDHC cards, as I do have a card reader on my laptop? I'm a little suspicious of the card as it only came in a small plastic case with no retail packaging. Some of the reviews on Amazon even think that the card is counterfeit.
    Last edited by exampasser; 01-01-2010 at 12:18 AM.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  2. SS -->
  3. Certification Invigilator Forum Admin JDMurray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Surf City USA
    Posts
    10,617
    Blog Entries
    50

    Certifications
    GSEC, EnCE, CISSP, SSCP, CEH (ANSI), CASP, CCNA, CCENT, CWSP, CWNA, CWTS, Security+, Server+, Network+, A+, DHTI+, PDI+, MSIT InfoSec
    #2
    SDHC cards are usually formatted with FAT32, so you can put it into a computer with an SDHC media reader slot, run a SCANDISK, defrag, and reformat it like a hard drive. But don't use a low-level sector checkers on it, like SpinRite, as they will quickly wear out the flash memory in the card.
    Moderator of the InfoSec, CWNP, IT Jobs, Virtualization, Java, and Microsoft Developers forums at www.techexams.net
    --
    Blog: www.techexams.net/blogs/jdmurray
    LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/jamesdmurray
    Twitter: www.twitter.com/jdmurray
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  4. Senior Member exampasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    714

    Certifications
    Bachelors in IT,Network+
    #3
    Thanks, I'll try that.

    Happy New Year!
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  5. Senior Member exampasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    714

    Certifications
    Bachelors in IT,Network+
    #4
    I've now been taking 100s of photos to see if the read/write error would occur again, but no issues. Go figure.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  6. Certification Invigilator Forum Admin JDMurray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Surf City USA
    Posts
    10,617
    Blog Entries
    50

    Certifications
    GSEC, EnCE, CISSP, SSCP, CEH (ANSI), CASP, CCNA, CCENT, CWSP, CWNA, CWTS, Security+, Server+, Network+, A+, DHTI+, PDI+, MSIT InfoSec
    #5
    The bad sectors on your card may be occupied by an image file. Running a CHKDSK <driveletter> /R will find the bad sectors, relocate their contents, and mark them as bad to they will not be reused. There are millions of sectors on that card, so no problem loosing a few bad ones.
    Moderator of the InfoSec, CWNP, IT Jobs, Virtualization, Java, and Microsoft Developers forums at www.techexams.net
    --
    Blog: www.techexams.net/blogs/jdmurray
    LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/jamesdmurray
    Twitter: www.twitter.com/jdmurray
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  7. Senior Member exampasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    714

    Certifications
    Bachelors in IT,Network+
    #6
    I scanned the card on the computer and sure enough errors were found and corrected. I got a quick question though, if I need to reformat the card do I need to rescan the card again to mark the bad sectors? I assume I would as when you reformat ,the FAT table is wiped, assuming information about bad sectors is recorded to the FAT table.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  8. Certification Invigilator Forum Admin JDMurray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Surf City USA
    Posts
    10,617
    Blog Entries
    50

    Certifications
    GSEC, EnCE, CISSP, SSCP, CEH (ANSI), CASP, CCNA, CCENT, CWSP, CWNA, CWTS, Security+, Server+, Network+, A+, DHTI+, PDI+, MSIT InfoSec
    #7
    If the errors were corrected by the disk scanning program you used, the data in the bad sectors was relocated to good sectors, and the bad sectors were marked as BAD so they will not be used again. You can re-run the scanning program to verify that no bad sectors remain. There is no need to reformat the card.
    Moderator of the InfoSec, CWNP, IT Jobs, Virtualization, Java, and Microsoft Developers forums at www.techexams.net
    --
    Blog: www.techexams.net/blogs/jdmurray
    LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/jamesdmurray
    Twitter: www.twitter.com/jdmurray
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  9. Senior Member exampasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    714

    Certifications
    Bachelors in IT,Network+
    #8
    I meant I ever needed to reformat the card sometime in the future.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  10. Certification Invigilator Forum Admin JDMurray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Surf City USA
    Posts
    10,617
    Blog Entries
    50

    Certifications
    GSEC, EnCE, CISSP, SSCP, CEH (ANSI), CASP, CCNA, CCENT, CWSP, CWNA, CWTS, Security+, Server+, Network+, A+, DHTI+, PDI+, MSIT InfoSec
    #9
    The information about bad sectors is recorded in a bad sector table and not in the FAT. Reformatting any card or drive will not wipe out the bad sector table.
    Moderator of the InfoSec, CWNP, IT Jobs, Virtualization, Java, and Microsoft Developers forums at www.techexams.net
    --
    Blog: www.techexams.net/blogs/jdmurray
    LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/jamesdmurray
    Twitter: www.twitter.com/jdmurray
    Reply With Quote Quote  

  11. Senior Member exampasser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    714

    Certifications
    Bachelors in IT,Network+
    #10
    Ok thanks for all the help.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

+ Reply to Thread

Social Networking & Bookmarks