+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Passed GCIH 93%

1. Junior Member

Certifications
    GCIH, CCNA (R&S + Security), A+, Net+, Sec+, Proj+, 70-680, CIW x 3

Default Passed GCIH 93%

This was my first SANS training/exam, so I wanted to provide some feedback based on my experience and preparation.

Experience:
    I've been in security for ~8 years and I've for the past year I've been a senior security analyst for an Incident Response team. I think having real world experience was a huge reason for my success. I had a lot of practical troubleshooting experience, so I was able to narrow down most questions simply by process of elimination based on prior knowledge.

Study Experience/Index:
    I am a notorious procrastinator, so I wasted the first 3 months not doing much. I ended up paying $349 to extend my exam and on-demand access because I underestimated the amount of time required for studying and creating the index. I watched the on-demand videos and read through the book twice.

I scored 79% and 83% on my 2 practice exams. I ended up recreating my index after taking my 2nd practice exam. I made it WAY too detailed and I was unable to find anything when I was testing, so I ended up guessing on a lot of the questions on I was unsure of. My 2nd iteration of the index was much simpler the the 1st. I went through each book and notated any keywords, tools, directories, etc that I thought were important. I marked which book and page it was on and then I sorted by the keyword column. There were multiple duplicate keywords (nmap, netcat, etc) that referenced different books/pages, but I never felt overwhelmed with sorting through the books to find what I was looking for. I also tabbed each book to make the main sections easier to thumb to.