+ Reply to Thread
  1. Junior Member Registered Member

Certifications
    Security+

Default Passed SYS401 & questions about next moves.

Hello, it is my first time posting on this forum, but I did use resources from this forum when studying for Security+.

So first thing first, in case anyone was interested, I got my certificate on Sept. 11, 2016 with 806/900. [Do not discuss your exam with our members]. I am currently a 3rd year university student, trying to major in Computer Security, and I have no IT background whatsoever so this certificate was my first milestone. I studied around 3~4 hours a day for 4 weeks and studied off of various resources.

My question is what certificate should I be aiming for now? I know Network+ is an option but some told me that taking the Network+ will not grant me any CE Credits? Also, I do know there are multiple certifications with different brands (ie. Cisco), so what would be a good next step?

If anyone has any questions about SYS401, I would be happy to answer but I'm sure there are enough experts on this forum that will be more helpful haha.

Thank you!
    Last edited by Plantwiz; 09-22-2016 at 05:41 PM. Reason: clean up
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS -->

Certifications
    BSc, MSc, ITIL v3F, MCP, MCDST, MCITP, MCTS, MCSA, N+, S+, CEH, CISSP
    What are you currently studying and where in IT do you want to work? Probably helpful to know that first before suggesting the next cert.

What are the types of PBQ questions you get in these exams?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

4. Senior Member

Certifications
    A+, Network+, Security+
    You probably want to aim to get your CASP if you're choosing to stay the COMPTIA route. Ofcourse CISSP is another option, but CASP from what I am hearing is a more straight forward type of test, unlike Sec+, lol. If you have any pointers for someone trying to test here soon shoot me a message. Good luck on your future endeavors!
    Reply With Quote Quote  

Certifications