+ Reply to Thread
  1. Junior Member Registered Member

Certifications
    Security +

Default Passed the SYO - 401

Took my test today, passed with 784. I’m so happy I passed it at the first attempt. This is also my first ever certification exam and I have zero hands-on experience although I do have a Bachelor’s degree in computer science. All I used was Darill Gibson’s book along with practice questions on exam-compass. I only had two performance based questions and 70 in total. The exam is significantly harder than the practice questions, but as long as you know the material, you would be fine. Guys I need advice on which cert to do next for someone like me who wants to work in the infosec field
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS -->
  3. Gaming Tech Expert Dakinggamer87's Avatar

Certifications
    A+, Net+, Storage+, Project+, Linux+, LPIC-1, CLA, MCP, MCSA, CCENT, CCNA, CCNA:Security, VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM, VCP, VCP-Cloud, CIW, vExpert '16/17, SSBBP
    Congrats on passing the exam first and foremost!! Great job

To answer your question it depends on what part you want to do pentesting, network security, etc. as each one has certifications tailored to their specific skill sets and criteria. I would suggest to get you started and narrow down your scope to take a look at the following certs: CEH, CHFI, CISSP, and GCIH. There are more than these but these come off the top of my head.

You might also consider checking out the InfoSec threads on TE for more direction. Best of luck in your future goals and career!!
    2017/2018 Certification Goals: MCSE (70-410,70-411,70-412,70-413)
    *Associate's of Applied Sciences degree in Information Technology-Network Systems Administration
    *Bachelor's of Science: Information Technology - Security, Master's of Science: Information Technology - Management
    Matthew 6:33 - "Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need."
    Reply With Quote Quote