+ Reply to Thread
  1. D20

Certifications
    A+, MCP

Default Beginning my Security + studying

Hey everyone,
    I just started studying for Security+ and so far i plan on using the following:

Professor Messer videos & Coarse Notes PDF
    Udemy SY0-501 videos
    MeasureUp SY0-501 Practice questions and simulations
    Darril Gibson's Book and Online Resources
    Pocket Prep iPhone app for Security+

I'm just curious if anyone has an opinion on an order i should approach studying? I was thinking of starting with the videos and taking notes during them. Then maybe reading when i can at home and using the Pocket Prep at while i'm at work and then saving the MeasureUp questions for last.

Thanks everyone! I'm hoping to get this test passed by February.
    2018 Goals: Study for and pass Security+ (December)
    2019 Goals: Pass Server + and work toward CISSP
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS

Certifications
    CISSP, CCNA Security, CHFIv8, CEHv8, CCNA R&S, CCENT, MCSA Server 2008, Project+, Server+, Security+ce, Network+, A+
    I think February is a bit far out. Unless you're getting hammered through Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years, I would shoot for really good practice scores within a couple months.

However, by February you should be golden.
    Master of Business Administration in Information Technology Management - Western Governors University (Started 10/1/16)
    Master of Science in Information Security and Assurance - Western Governors University
    Bachelor of Science in Network Administration - Western Governors University
    Associate of Applied Science x4 - Heald College
    Reply With Quote Quote  

4. D20

Certifications
    A+, MCP
    Quote Originally Posted by PCTechLinc View Post
    I think February is a bit far out. Unless you're getting hammered through Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years, I would shoot for really good practice scores within a couple months.

However, by February you should be golden.