+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Passed!

Certifications
    CISSP, MCITP:EA, Security+, VCA-DCV

Default Passed!

I took the 290 today and passed with an 831. The test was somewhat challenging. The sims were pretty straight forward you either knew what you were doing or you didn't. I had a couple of questions that tripped me up.

A little background about me for those who are curious. I work at a medium sized organization and do server tasks every so often. I mostly do desktop support but with a smaller organization my roles kind of cross over sometimes. I manage the backup server, setup new accounts in AD, reset passwords but I poke around in server almost daily. I did a pretty good amount of labbing and exploring in preparation also. Overall, I studied a little over a month for the exam.

Study Material:

MCSA/MCSE Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-290): Managing and Maintaining a Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Environment - Read through this one twice and did the labs in it.

MCSE Core Required Exams in a Nutshell - Awesome book and highly recommend it for these exams. Don't use this alone though.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS -->

Certifications
    MCSE:Security, MCDST, A+, Network+, Security+, ITIL V3 Foundations, ITIL 2011 Intermediate: Service Transition, MOS 2007 (MCAS) BAS Computer Forensics
    Congrats on the pass. I just scheduled my test for June 5th. Its going to be a 300 mile drive that starts the moment I get off work and ends at midnight in a hotel just to get to the test center, but it is the only place around that is offering a saturday exam.

I'm using the self paced training kit listed above, along with the ms press book, cbt nuggets, and transcender.

If I don't pass that is going to be one heck of a drive of shame.
    Last edited by Devilsbane; 05-18-2010 at 07:03 PM.
    Reply With Quote Quote  

Certifications
    BSIT, Proj+, A+, Net+, Sec+: MCTS: X5; MCITP:EA
    Congrats on the new cert!