+ Reply to Thread
  1. Junior Member Registered Member

Default What should i do next after 1st line support?

Hi.

Please can someone give me some advise/guidance is to where i should go next in my IT career?

I graduated in 2004 with a 2:1 in Business/IT, I have been working in 1st line support in a bank for nearly 2 and half years. I would like to progress to the next step, would i believe is second line? Dont i have to do qualifications/ courses?

Is thee any chance i can skip second line and go into Networking admin?

I would appreciate any feedback on this.

Thank you
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS -->

Certifications
    VCIX-NV, VCAP5-DCD/DTA/DCA, VCP-5/DT, MCSA: 2008, MCITP: EA, MCTS x5, ITIL v3, MCSA: M, MS in Telecom Engg
    You should start working on the certiications and apply for hands-on jobs such as Desktop Support. You've paid your dues doing the helpdesk for 2 years, start applying for jobs.

You really cant go from helpdesk to net admin, unless you get very lucky. Think of it this way, if you were the Operations Manager for a company, would you give access to the firewalls, core switches and routers to someone who has never logged into the console of a device?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

4. Junior Member Registered Member
    Thank you so much. I agree think i am getting ahead of myself.

Would you be able to advise me what qualifications i should be doing, there are so many?
    Reply With Quote Quote  

Certifications
    VCIX-NV, VCAP5-DCD/DTA/DCA, VCP-5/DT, MCSA: 2008, MCITP: EA, MCTS x5, ITIL v3, MCSA: M, MS in Telecom Engg
    Sure. Some folks might recommend beginning with the CompTia Network+, but I'd recommend the CCENT. You have worked on the helpdesk for a while, it's quite likely you know something about networking. Grab the Wendell Odom book and start reading.

Head over to the CCENT/CCNA forums where there is tons of great info. Stick around this website, it's an awesome place to be.
    Reply With Quote Quote