+ Reply to Thread
  1. Junior Member Registered Member

Default Studying for Server+ and scared!

Hello all, I am a Document Management Administrator at a large law firm. I have 10+ years technical experience, beginning with software training and ending up where I am now. My boss has requested that I sit for the Server+ exam. I ordered the Instructor's manual from CompTIA's website and have ExamCram2 on the way. I have some limited experience with servers -- I've set them up and configured them, but never really done any deep troubleshooting with them. I do not hold any other certs. Do I have a chance to pass Server+ if I study hard? I'm so afraid that lack of an A+ cert is really going to hurt me. Any words of advice or wisdom would be greatly appreciated.

Sheryl
    Reply With Quote Quote  

2. SS -->

Certifications
    Server+,A+, N+, MCDST, HDI/SCA, MCP, ITIL Foundations 2011, VCA5-DCV,VCA5-Cloud, MTA 98-364
    Use Jonathan Lau's book (you can grab from Kindle).

It is an excellent and cheap book. I used this in colloboration with the Server+ notes found on this wonderful site.

UniversalFrost (TExam member) also posted some very helpful items as well.

Know SCSI and RAID configs for sure! Good luck!
    Reply With Quote Quote  

Certifications
    Mac Integration Basics 10.11, Wireless#, CWTS
    LearnSmart has their exam guides on sale through 6pm this evening for a buck. Might splurge and get the Server+ guide. Its not meant for a main source, but for a $1.00? Why not. Just be prepared to get bombarded with phone calls from their sales dept soon afterwards. So use a Google Voice # if you have one.

IT Certification Guides - CCNA MCSE A+ Network Security Certification Guides
    Reply With Quote Quote  

5. Junior Member Registered Member

Default Thanks for the encouragement and info!